E i l u j i o n


Birth-Grandmother
September 23, 2007, 8:01 pm
Filed under: adoption, Synchronicity

I compared a picture of myself to one of my birth-grandmother when she was younger. I took the picture of myself May 3, 2007, unaware that this was the day she died.

I had just finished conducting the final critiques for the animation class I had taught at Penn. I remember feeling like I had to take a picture of myself, proud, but extremely exhausted. I was feeling depleted, but I wanted to capture the moment. I remember thinking of her and not knowing why.

My birth-mother called while I was putting the images together.

If I wasn’t able to confirm the dates, I wouldn’t believe it myself. When I put my image next to hers, I know that she was there with me at that moment in time. I can see her in me.